On the map above, mouseover on names of the centers in red, for more information

Introduction to Bhava Prachar Parishads

During the 2nd General Convention of the Ramakrishna Math and Mission, held in 1980, there was a flood of solicitous requests for opening of new centres as well as affiliation of the many Private Centres spread over length and breadth of India and abroad.

Under the progressive leadership of Srimad Swami Vireshwaranandaji Maharaj – the tenth President, it was then decided to coordinate and guide the Private Centres through a centralized organization called as the Ramakrishna Vivekananda Bhav Prachar Parishad. Regional Parishads were provided for with Model constitution and point guidelines.

As of now, there are seventeen regional Parishads enrolling about 600 member ashrams. All India Conventions of all these private centres have been held in Belur Math in the years 1989, 1998 and 2004.

In Maharashtra, during 1987 – 89, eleven centres inspired by Ramakrishna Math, Nagpur were enrolled and the Vidarbha-Marathwada Parishad was formed. In 2004 it was extended to cover entire Maharashtra after including eight centres inspired by Pune and Mumbai Math Centres. Today, the Maharashtra Bhav Prachar Parishad has 19 member centres and 4 observer centres.

** Aurangabad centre, which was a centre under the Maharashtra Bhav Prachar Parishad has been affiliated to the Ramakrishna Math and Mission, as Ramakrishna Mission Ashram from July 2005.

** To read in detail about the vision of the Bhav Prachar Parishad, visit http://www.belurmath.org/bhavprachar.htm.You may also visit a center closest to you to learn more about Bhav Prachar Parishad centres.